We are GO for treatment!

Hooray!  My white blood cell count is UP and has returned to the normal range!  I’m still tired but so much better and I can restart treatment tonight.  Am so, so happy!

(It feels so selfish to share this silly little bit of news with you, but if I can’t share the good news, then this blog would be a really sad space, wouldn’t it?  And I do NOT want that!)

On another topic, I haven’t let this recent setback keep me from working on goals over at Women in Planetary Science — did you see the latest planetary science press release touting the “man made” hole in a comet?  Sigh.  Here’s the letter I wrote to NASA  explaining why gender-neutral language matters.  Thanks to bon, Veronica, and other feminist friends (and new friends) for helping to explain the situation on an earlier post, when I was taken to task by strangers who said, in effect, that words don’t matter, and it’s just fine to call us all men.

23 Responses to We are GO for treatment!

  1. *m* says:

    Selfish? Hardly. Bring on that good news — always! Yay!

  2. planetnomad says:

    Hooray!! Please NEVER apologize for sharing so-called small good news🙂

  3. Sunday says:

    One of the things I love most about you and your posts is that you share everything. The good news, the bad news, and never ending hope for the future.

  4. Stimey says:

    Bad ass! Also, you are quite possible the LEAST selfish person I know.

  5. Khara says:

    Congratulations! So happy to hear your ready for treatment again. Thoughts and prayers with you.

  6. Aunt Pat says:

    Good news is never silly ! Keep it coming ,It’s what we like to hear .
    LOVE

  7. Catherine says:

    Yeah! I’m happy to hear your great news.
    Great letter about the “man-made” crater – even if you never hear back, hopefully your message will stick.

  8. Loran says:

    BRING IT!!! xo

  9. elesha says:

    You and selfish Do NOT belong in the same sentence…This is great news and what we love to hear along with all the stuff you share.

  10. Lindsay says:

    Hooray!!!!

  11. Bon says:

    glad to hear about the treatment, and well-done on the letter. i think it matters.🙂

  12. Sandy says:

    So glad to hear you are once again able to begin treatment. I have not left a reply before this time. I went with my daughter to her 3mo check up. Happy to report that everything seems good. I will say that going and waiting for the drs. opinion is anxiety doubled. I cried on the way home – thankful that there is no cancer. My daughter guided me to your site. She was diagnosed at 35 while pregnant with her sixth child. She is encouraged through your words. Thank you – we will continue to pray for you and your family.

  13. Elaine says:

    We spent a lot of time in college debate talking about why language matters. It’s particularly annoying in this case because NASA has a policy (as I read your earlier post to say) and there’s a really simple word that’s not at all awkward to use in place of “man” in this context.

    Yay on the treatment front. I suddenly feel like jumping up and singing “na na na na, na na na na, hey hey hey, good-bye” like I’m at a college basketball game. It’s my ode to whatever cancer cells dare sit in your body.

  14. Hooray! I’m *always* glad to hear good news, big or small. There’s always more than enough bad news, let’s celebrate *all* the good things🙂

  15. Kami says:

    Hell Yeah! 😉

  16. Ruthie from California says:

    Love hearing the *silly* news! Amen!

  17. magpie says:

    Yeah! Glad for you.

  18. Linda Lawrence says:

    News is great! 🙂 🙂

  19. C.Mom says:

    Way to kick those blood counts through the roof!🙂 xo

  20. Sara says:

    This is BIG news!!! So happy to hear it🙂

  21. NYFriend says:

    Yea for white blood cells!

