Flying towards Saturn

Cassini image of SaturnEver wondered what it would be like to fly into space?  I mean WAY into space? 

Although humans aren’t ready to go back to the Moon or to Mars, we have sent out dozens of spacecraft to the planets and beyond.  Most of the instruments send back data that scientists analyze and tell us what it means.  But on almost every mission, there is also a camera — so that everyone can be part of the experience.  Check out this new video from NASA’s Cassini spacecraft as it heads toward Saturn, just missing cloudy Titan and dry Mimas, two of Saturn’s moons.

Incredible!

11 Responses to Flying towards Saturn

  1. Julie says:

    Thanks, Susan! Just showed that to my space obsessed almost-seven-year-old and bookmarked the site on the kids computer so we can check it frequently.

  2. sutari says:

    Oh my goodness. Isn’t that just incredibly beautiful. Of course, the music helps, but I have tears in my eyes. Just stunning. I have sent that to my daughter’s 4th grade teacher – they are doing a session on planets in science class right now.

  3. sarahdees says:

    This is a cool post, which I shared on Facebook. Six years ago, when my daughter was 9, I wrote, choreographed and directed a musical play about this Cassini flight at her school. It was called “Alien Creatures.” It started out as nonfiction, but then halfway through turned to fiction, as we imagined landing on Titan and encountering the life forms that might be found there. It was a wonderful play – the kids and parents learned a lot. The “Alien Creatures” turned out to be the humans, who landed on the planet Titan, scaring the native Zeeboz beings who inhabited this large moon of Saturn.

  4. That is *seriously* cool. No wonder you love your work!

  5. landscronan says:

    how spectacular is this!!!!!!! fantastic video😀 Thanks Kate for letting me know about it :D:D:D

  6. Kristen says:

    The boys will love this!!! Thanks, girl.

  7. Mama Echo says:

    Wow! Thanks for sharing the video!!
    We are trying to figure out a way to see the space shuttle launch in April or June. Every time we talk about it, I think of you.🙂

  8. camila says:

    Thanks! Great video, I will show to my son!

  9. Richard Foster says:

    Wow. Like being there. Thanks Susan. You are part of an amazing profession.

