It’s ok. Mom is here.

When you have a week where it is simply too hot to play outside, the plants wilt before you get them in the ground, your lypmhedema flares up when you venture out to volunteer in your children’s classrooms (the heat makes your arms swell), the washer breaks, the electrician is late, the repair guy cancels, the laundry builds up, your kids have accidents and muddy socks, the repair guys spend the morning working on the roof right next to your shower, the pest control guy shows you a swarm of termites between your house and the next, the speech teacher your child trusts retires, your kid can’t hear you because his ears are so full of wax (literally! we now have an ENT to add to the list of regular appointments), he struggles with worry, and you miss the last t-ball practice because you’re in a car accident on the beltway (why yes, I did bury the lede – it doesn’t seem so bad now, does it?), it’s nice to know that:

– you have friends that are so awesome that they text you in the ER, one offering to come and sit with you, one long distance wishing she could come and sit with you, and one who just shows up even when you didn’t tell her to which ER you were taken;

– you have friends to playdate with the next day so that the kids can forget the traumatic experience (low speed accident, middle lane of I-495 at 5:11 p.m., the other driver wouldn’t let me move the car to the shoulder, so the traffic began to speed by angrily on both sides);

– the other driver will respond calmly, after he finally moves off your hood and agrees to let you move to the side of the road, and even be nice to you and your kids as you stand wedged between the van and the poision ivy lining the shoulder for 20 minutes waiting for the police to arrive;

– fire and rescue will eventually find you on the beltway, after 2 phone calls to 911 and a call back (note: they don’t call you back from 911.  A return call from 911 showed up on my phone as 689.  Luckily I answered it.  The second time.);

– the ambulance will have air conditioning, teddy bears, and a young EMT who is happy to speak Ben 10 and Pokemon with the boys;

– the children are resiliant. (They didn’t cry or scream or panic.  They were surprisingly fine.);

– you can communicate by text even if the shock of the accident and the noise of ten lanes of traffic means you can’t hear anything on the cell phone, including your husband’s patient questions and 911;

– your husband will understand that you can’t hear him, and listen to both your words and your panic, driving to come get you and the children even before he knows where on the beltway you are;

– your husband will drive through rush hour traffic to rescue you and the kids, arriving at the same time as the fire truck (although he couldn’t get over to the shoulder in time, forcing him to take the next exit, head the other direction, exit again, and try it all again);

– fire and rescue will help you uninstall the car seats so you can move them to the second vehicle (and yes, we did throw them out after we got home);

– the ambulance will drive quickly and carefully, and there’s no wait at the ER;

– you will eventually calm down, even if it takes the ER nurse talking to you for it to happen;

– the scans would be just routine, and no ribs or bones or anything were broken, even though they are fragile from the femara, chemo, and the bone mets;

– eventually you would be released, with paperwork and CD of the scans, with your friend, and she would drive you home even after you had been talking nonsense due to the shock and the drugs;

– the children would have long been asleep, safe, secure, at home with their daddy;

– the next day would be ok.  it would be hard, sure, but the kids would be fine and the back would just be achy and friends would come over and we would get through it; and

– when one child cried out in the night, the other would wake and put his hand on my back (I had been putting him back down after a nightmare too), sleepily telling his brother, “It’s okay.   Mom is here.”

Because I was.  And I am.  I’m here.  We’re all okay.  It’s a little hard to concentrate on the routine right now, but we are all so grateful that we’re okay and that no one hit us when we sat stopped in the middle lane of the beltway with our hazard lights on for too many minutes while we couldn’t move forward because of the other vehicle, couldn’t move backward because of the traffic (hello, beltway!), and feared what would become of us when a speeding car slammed into our stopped selves.  But we’re okay.

We’re all okay.

Mom is here.

36 Responses to It’s ok. Mom is here.

  1. Megan says:

    Susan,
    You are amazing! I continuously follow your blog. What a WEEK. But you have such wonderful, caring friends and a wonderful, caring husband and beautiful, resilient boys and you can add this to the list of many things that you have beaten!
    Hugs,
    Megan

  2. sutari says:

    Whoa. Never thought I would be grateful for traffic! But at least it was a relatively slow speed accident. So glad all is OK… Now, I am just trying to figure out if I heard that on the traffic report! Whenever I am driving, especially if I am stuck in traffic, and I hear about an accident, I just think to myself, “don’t be upset/mad/frustrated, someone is having a worse day than I am. I hope they are OK”. I am glad that you all are!

  3. Stimey says:

    I cannot even start to imagine how scary it must be to be stopped on the beltway in rush hour traffic after an accident with your kids in the car. I am so glad that all of you are okay. I’m sorry it’s been such a bad week. Big, big hugs to you.😦

  4. Catherine says:

    Wow, Susan. So grateful that you and the boys are okay. I’m hoping for a very peaceful week next week for you.

  5. FishyGirl says:

    Good grief! So glad you are all okay. Bless your husband for staying calm – I’ve been on the receiving end of the “I’ve been in an accident on the beltway” and freaked right the heck out. Bless your friend for finding you in the ER, bless the whole lot of you. Peace be with you.

  6. Hannah says:

    I once saw a car with the license plate “I495 SUX”. So true.

    I’m so glad that you and your kids are okay.

  7. loran says:

    Whew. Breathe. xo

  8. *m* says:

    What a harrowing tale — yikes! Thank God you and your guys are okay.

  9. Eve says:

    Wow, I’m glad you’re okay. I HATE the Beltway and feel like such a wimp when I drive on it. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the weekend now. You deserve it!

  10. planetnomad says:

    Wow! You sure know how to keep it interesting!🙂 Soooo glad you are all ok, and that Mom is there.

  11. NYFriend says:

    I’m so thankful you are okay!! What a week you’ve had – yikes! But as you said, so wonderful for all of us, especially all three of your boys, that “Mom is here.” (Gosh those boys are so sweet!!)

    Big hugs to you!!

  12. Rev Dr Mom says:

    So glad you’re all okay!

  13. Oh my! So horrified not to know about your week until this very instant because I would have stopped everything to lend a hand or come to your rescue! Thinking of you and glad to know that you are ok. ((hugs))

  14. deb says:

    Sending a hug.

  15. Niksmom says:

    I’m sitting here weeping, despite knowing that all is okay, because, well, just because. I guess. So thankful for the blessings surrounding you and the love of your friends and family to buoy you through it all.

    Sending love, prayers, gratitude for the amazing woman you are and that I know you.

  16. WhyDaddy is an amazing man. And you have amazing friends. You deserve them, mind🙂
    I read all this with my heart in my mouth for you, how incredibly scary. I think *I* would have been having nightmares, let alone trying to calm my kids after an experience like that.
    Sending lots of love and hugs your way.

  17. JoC says:

    oooof! I am loving the gratitude that shines in neon here. Hoping for a boring week for you now. (((gentle hugs)))

  18. julie says:

    Stress was building up while reading your post. I am so relieved to read that you and the kids are fine. Wish you will all rapidly recover. Take care.

  19. Jane says:

    What a day, what a week! Frightening and comforting at the same time! Not everyone makes lemonade as well as you do!

    I’ll be thinking of you tonight when I have my telescope out at our town’s relay for life. I’m showing Saturn to the walkers once it gets dark, and if it’s cloudy, I’m handing our Saturn cards.* –O– **

  20. What a harrowing day! But it’s so true. It’s all OK because Mom is here. Sometimes it’s scary how big we are in their little lives.

  21. C.Mom says:

    Oh my gosh! I had no idea—what an ordeal. So glad that you are all ok! xo

  22. nancyspoint says:

    Oh my gosh. Sometimes life is just way too eventful isn’t it? So glad everyone is ok. As someone else said earlier this week blogging, sometimes we need to appreciate “just being.” Hope you are all resting up a bit.

  23. Jennifer P says:

    Thank goodness you are all ok! I 2nd the person above on you awesome husband and friends, and of course fantastic kids. much love

  24. Oh my…if it’s not one thing, it’s ten others. Thanking God that, despite all the inconveniences and harrowing experiences, you are all okay. (But I’m sorry for all your troubles this week!)

  25. Colleen says:

    Okay, so I go a few days without being online, and THIS happens! Thank God you are all okay, in every way. I am continually amazed by you and your fantastic family. Talk about resilience. I guess it’s genetic. I am hoping (so hoping) for a quiet quiet week for all of you. Let’s try for a playdate this coming week? I’ll call you. Hugs.

  26. Glad everyone is okay. Agreed, being stopped on beltway would be absolutely terrifying.

  27. Bon says:

    good lord. i missed this.

    what a week, Susan. what a scary thing…my heart in my mouth imagining.

    mom is here. beautiful words. bittersweet words. i hope these rough days ease up. xo.

  28. Elaine says:

    That sounds terrifying. Glad to hear you don’t have any broken bones and you were there to pat those boys to sleep.

  29. NoR says:

    So sorry! But I had that happen once on the beltway – middle lane also. It was such a weird feeling to see all the traffic backing up behind me. The woman wouldn’t move until a tow truck drove up on the side and yelled over that the police would want us to move over anyway…

  30. Rebecca U says:

    Glad everyone is ok.

    I think maybe all first responders should take a short class on kid pop culture – maybe someone could do a youtube class every couple of months on what’s hot with the young set. Wonderful the EMT could discuss Ben 10 (my 7yo son is just starting to watch that). I knew many carry teddy bears, but to be able to distract with words as well is wonderful.

  31. zoiks – very glad to learn everyone’s ok. You and your little ones sure do have poise under pressure.

  32. Pam says:

    glad everyone is ok, stay safe!!!

  33. magpie says:

    I’m so glad you’re okay.

  34. JoC says:

    Came back to see how you are doing and reread this and got teary all over again. “when one child cried out in the night, the other would wake and put his hand on my back (I had been putting him back down after a nightmare too), sleepily telling his brother, “It’s okay. Mom is here.” Because I was. And I am. I’m here. We’re all okay.” Knowing that you are not taking this for granted.

  35. Archiex says:

    Hi there,

    I hope you are okay, I am following your blog last week and I am very happy that I found your site.. I like your writing style, as well as I can relate some of your post because I am also a mother with one daughter. I hope you have a great weekend ahead with your family..🙂

