Pain control

They’ve put me on morphine round the clock for the pain.  It suppresses the pain but puts me straight to sleep. Which is fine. Lots and lots of sleep this weekend.

They doubled the morphine yesterday.  It helps but it’s not enough.  Particularly since it makes me vomit.  A lovely side effect.

My appointment is the end of the week and we’ll clearly change treatments based on what our oncologist recommends after she sees the results of the scan.  There’s so much pain in my ribs, it’s clearly not nothing.  It would be lovely if it were only a cracked rib, though, instead of effects of spreading cancer.

This week we are praying that my oncologist chooses the right treatment and that it is effective.  Quickly.

85 Responses to Pain control

  1. Your strength continues to inspire, if that’s any consolation whatsoever. My girls and I are praying for you, FWIW. Hope today is better (can you tell I SUCK at this encouragement thing? which is why I usually just lurk here, not comment – LOL). (((hugs)))

  2. carosgram says:

    I was on morphine after surgery and I understand the nausea. I continue to pray for your healing. Thinking of you and wishing you the best

  3. Kelly Kruger says:

    I am still hoping for a cracked rib, Susan. You were one busy woman before your symptoms showed up. In the meantime, prayers coming your way for relief from the pain, encouraging news and insight from your medical team by the end of the week, and comfort for your entire family during this difficult time. You have navigated through challenging times before and have always come out on top. I have no doubt that you and your team will triumph once again.

  4. ivette santiago says:

    I am praying for you, May God help you and give you strenght to go through this, and you may look back one year from today and give the Glory to Him….God bless you and yours!

  5. Jayne says:

    Susan, I really hope that you feel better soon. Like Melissa in a previous comment, I don’t think I am so good at encouragement either. But I do want to send my heartfelt well-wishes & prayers your way!!

  6. Andrea says:

    First, hoping you have some relief from the pain and nausea. Second, hoping it’s just a cracked rib. Know that you have a huge team of Princess Warriors sending their strength to you and prayers to God for rest and ease for you.

  7. Jo Major Ciolino says:

    Oh, I have had some wild hallucinations on morphine! But it is a sleepy drug. Just give in to it, sleep, rest, float. Meanwhile, we will continue to storm the gates of heaven to sustain you and your family. You have an army of people who follow you, admire you, and who hold you in the palm of their hand. Much love – Jo

  8. leethrash says:

    Susan, we will be thinking of you this week! Hope you get good news at your appointment.

  9. {sue} says:

    I was up for a few hours in the middle of the night last night with a sleepless child. I was thankful for the extra hours I could pray for you. I love you!!

  10. slouchy says:

    Hoping, praying (in my way). Love to you.

  11. magpie says:

    Thinking of you.

  12. Twice Five Miles says:

    Sending love.

  13. jane says:

    I spent a good part of the weekend looking at Lego warrior princesses. Meaning, I spent a good part of the weekend thinking of you, Susan! We need more warrior princesses in those Lego sets, just like we need more women in science and engineering. While you sleep, you inspire us daily!

  14. NOR says:

    Best of luck!

  15. Melissa says:

    Susan, just wanted you to know that you are very much in my thoughts and prayers. Much love.

  16. Stimey says:

    Love to you. I hate that you hurt.

  17. Delora says:

    I hate that you’re in so much pain. Hoping for good results from the oncologist.

    (Can I bring you dinner one of these days? SuperDad could use a break I’m sure.)

  18. Amy says:

    I never thought I’d hope someone had a cracked rib. We’re thinking of you! Is there anything I can do – we’re local!

  19. justenjoyhim says:

    Major prayers, Susan. *Hugs* to you, my friend.

  20. Donna says:

    Hugs, love, prayers, wishes are coming from my corner. Pain really bites the big one. xoxo

  21. bigglemomAmy says:

    Oh, Susan, hang in there.

  22. Oh yes, what everyone else has already said. We are all here, thinking of you, praying, and sending every ounce of strength your way. Oodles of love… CGF and Girlies 3 xoxoxo

  23. jackie orourke says:

    Hi I too had IBC and had horrific pain in my ribs and after many scans, xrays etc. it was inconclusive the cause. I however believed it was from yoga and refused the biopsy, as it turned out it was chostochroditis (I’m sure that’s mispelled) anyway It flares up from time to time and I think it’s because of all the radiation damage. I’m almost 9 yrs out. I too had bilateral and have lymphedema. I’m praying for strength and wisdom. I’d be happy to talk if you’d like.

  24. *m* says:

    Wishes, prayers, hopes — lots of them from here for you, every day.

  25. Alyce says:

    I’ve been thinking of you and hoping for the best. Sending prayers up for you.

  26. Angela says:

    Odd to say I’ll be praying for a cracked rib, but I will! Thinking of you Susan.

  27. Christine says:

    Keep the faith. You have a lot of good karma coming your way.

  28. Amy says:

    Oh, Jackie O’Rourke’s above comment comes just at the right time, doesn’t it? Hoping for “what she has” or a cracked rib – LOL! Kind of like “break a leg!”. Thinking of you!!!!

  29. Yes, thanks Jackie for giving us another thing to hope for! Susan, I am sending you lots and lots of love and I hope the pain and nausea both recede. You are very special to me!

  30. robbinlynn says:

    Praying for you and thinking of you and your family today.

  31. Kathi says:

    What Robbin said. I’m keepin you in my heart and hoping for ‘only’ a cracked rib. Strange what you pray for when you’re dealing with cancer, isn’t it? xxxooo

  32. J.J. says:

    Never prayed so hard for cracked ribs. Give in to the rest temporarily b/c that’s when miracles happen. Much love!

  33. jodifur says:

    Susan you have all my thoughts and all my love.

  34. Kristen says:

    Xoxo

  35. Laurie says:

    Oh man, sending lots of love and good thought vibes to you. Hugs!

  36. Minky says:

    Oh honey. It breaks my heart to hear this. I wish I could take some of the pain from you.

  37. MW says:

    Just “de-lurking” to let you know you are in my prayers.

  38. Julie Marsh says:

    Be well, Susan. Please, please, please be well.

  39. Amanda says:

    Susan, you rest. You believe and you trust that we are here sending what we can.

  40. Amy says:

    I am here because of Amanda, thinking healing thoughts for you.

  41. Mary says:

    Many prayers and hopes for a cracked rib — also thinking of you and your family as well as inspiration for your doctors

  42. millie says:

    Wow, here via Amanda. Ditto what everyone has said and sending you healing thoughts.

  43. Claire says:

    Hope that you can get your pain under control and kick cancers ASS!!!!!

  44. tysdaddy says:

    Amanda encouraged me to encourage you. So here i am. Encouraging you. Chin up, girlfriend …

  45. Karianna says:

    Lots of love and positive thoughts for you, my incredible friend.

  46. Christy says:

    Keeping you in my thoughts and sending positive, cancer-free, pain-free vibes your way…

  47. Bon says:

    love you. and your cracked rib. praying for your oncologist’s wisdom and for great, miraculous luck.

  48. lis says:

    im here from twitter just to share love and hope. sending you and your family strength, and your oncologist the wisdom to move forward with a plan that works.
    xoxo
    lis

  49. patti L says:

    Lots of love and hope…

  50. kikarose says:

    I never thought I’d hope for a cracked rib….
    Keeping you in my thoughts!

  51. pgoodness says:

    Thinking of you, hoping the morphine is providing enough rest for your body to heal. Sending positive and healing vibes your way.

  52. I’m sending you love and light and I’m not even asking for a doggie-bag of morphine. That’s how much I love you.

    Sleep. Sleep is good.

  53. Megan says:

    Susan, I am angry right now and sick to my stomach about this. It is not fair that you are in so much pain. I also am hoping you somehow cracked a rib or have severe costochondritis. Hugs and prayers for you, SuperDad, Widget, and Little Bear.

  54. Misty says:

    I’m hoping and praying for you.

  55. Prayers, hugs, and peaceful thoughts your way. You are brave, and an inspiration to the world.

  56. Oh, Susan. Oh honey.

    I’m so sorry.😦

    Thinking of you.

  57. TwoBusy says:

    Sending all the goodwill in the world your way.

  58. Laura says:

    praying. how I wish I could just wave my hands in the air and make this go away for you. I am so sorry. praying still, praying always.

  59. taristhread says:

    Sending prayers and positive thoughts…for you and your family.

  60. Found you via The Bloggess. Thinking good, strong, and happy thoughts for you.

  61. John Brown says:

    Jenny (aka the Bloggess) mentioned you on Twitter. Just sending a prayer to you and your family.

    Take care.

  62. Sending light and love, hopes for healing that chases away your pain.

  63. I wish I could wish away the pain for you.

    Know we are here sending you love and light.

  64. the lil bee says:

    My God, you are so brave and still seem to have a sense of humor through all of this. I am sending you lots of love and prayers and positivity tonight. My friend does healing circles too and I am sending your name to her. I don’t know if you believe in that sort of thing, they’re kind of hippy dippy, but I do, and sometimes you just have to believe. Can’t hurt, right?! xx

  65. Sending positive energy, light and and good vibes your way. My dreams and affection are with you.

  66. Sean says:

    I think Cancer deserves a shot in the ribs. I second Amanda’s comment: rest, and then come out fighting.

  67. PartlySunny says:

    I just found you through the Bloggess, and I really don’t know jack about your situation, so feel free to blow me off or tell me to shut it. My mom (also cancer) had a vomiting reaction to morphine, so they switched her to oxycodone and methadone. To me, nausea is a form of pain and needs to be controlled if possible. Anyway, I’m sure you’ve tried it all.

    I’m so sorry you’re going through this. Good juju coming your way.

  68. I’m thinking of you Susan, and sending you much much love.

  69. Taran says:

    We’ve never met. I was sent here by Jenny,the Bloggess asking her tweeps for prayers and/or voodoo spells for you. I will send you my love, hugs, and prayers. And I’ll make a reverse voodoo doll just in case. Hope you are pain free soon.

  70. Jen says:

    What they said…goes double for me. Hold tight.

  71. My prayers of strength and health are with you. Stay strong!

  72. Terri says:

    Susan, God bless you! You are in my thoughts & prayers. Have you tried Oxycontin? It’s addictive but so is morphine. My cousin said it helped so much more. Also, ask about THC for nausea.
    Please take care.

  73. Random says:

    Sending prayers, good vibes, happy thoughts, and awesomeness your way! Per The Bloggess’ request for voodoo, I shall sacrifice a chicken nugget!

  74. Kristin says:

    I hope that you get the rest, and relief you need. Fingers crossed and prayers said for you getting good news.

  75. Mairbear says:

    Here via Amanda, sending you love and light. Hold faith and trust. You can be healed.

  76. Terra says:

    Kick that cancers ass. You can do it. My Grandmother was given four months. That was 40 years ago. She just said you have to have all the love you can muster and be mean as a snake to those nasty cancer cells. Sending love and prayers your way.

  77. Crissytin says:

    So sorry for your pain right now. My only advice is to ask your doctor about advil (ibuprofen). My mom had terrible bone pain that morphine didn’t help. Her oncologist kept upping the dose – a nurse finally asked her why she wasn’t on advil, when advil worked great on bone pain and morphine was ineffective. A few advil later, The difference was amazing. (but I’m not a doctor and that was 10 years ago- so ask first) *hugs

  78. Mindy says:

    Sent here by @thebloggess. Definitely saying prayers for your healing tonight and for respite from the pain.

  79. Darryle says:

    I have no words to add to what’s been said. Just lots of thoughts and prayers and all the love that is surrounding you.

  80. Holding you in my thoughts and prayers, dear Susan.

  81. Colleen says:

    I’m so very sorry you’re in such pain. Prayers, thoughts, wishes for effective treatment.

  82. Ginny says:

    GOOD MOJO coming your way, sugar pie!

