Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Happy Breast Cancer Awareness Month!

If that’s not a contradiction in terms.  You all have heard so much about breast cancer here over the past few months that I won’t bore you with the details again.  You know that there is more than one type of breast cancer.  You know that there isn’t always a lump with breast cancer.  You know that 1 in 8 women will contract a form of breast cancer in their lifetimes.

You know how to do your self-exams.  You know to call your doctor if there is ANY change in one of your breasts.

You are an amazing group of women and men.  You are Team WhyMommy.

… 

If you happen to do a Breast Cancer Awareness Month post yourself this month, or an event like CandyGirlFlies, please let me know — I’ll be happy to link to you and feature you on this permanent page of my web site!

27 Responses to Breast Cancer Awareness Month

  1. Linda L. says:

    We are paying $1.00 tomorrow to wear pink t-shirts at our school instead of our usual uniforms. The money collected will go to breast cancer research.

  2. Sean McGarvy says:

    Sam,

    My name is Sean McGarvy. I am a Special Projects Producer with Fox 5 News here in Washignton. We’re working on a series about IBC and came across your post. We were moved by your story and would love to talk to you. Please e-mail me when you can.

    Thanks,
    -Sean

  3. I’ve posted and linked http://drsavta.com/wordpress/2007/10/01/breast-cancer-awareness-month/
    I continue to be awed by your strength and grace.

  4. Sandy says:

    I made a BCAM post on my blog about why I always try to Think Pink … always.

    *hugs*

  5. Sandy says:

    Oops..forgot to put my url… http://insaneworld.wordpress.com is my blog. 😛

  6. I just wrote a post linking to this post on Breast Cancer Awareness Month. It’s also Down Syndrome Awareness Month so I combined two amazing blogger links in one post.

  7. bon says:

    Oscar and i did the Run for the Cure yesterday here, in memory of my grandmother and in honour of you and another dear friend fighting cancer right now.

  8. Leann I Am says:

    I also have a blog on Yahoo 360 and a bunch of us have put Breast Cancer Awareness pics as our profile pictures. Quite a few of my friends there have or have had breast cancer. One of them had a double mastectomy just a few months ago. It seems to be getting closer to all of us everyday.

    Thank you for sharing your story! You make the rest of us even stronger!

  9. Becky says:

    I’ve set up a display of books in my bookstore – some about information, some about support, some survivor stories, all about awareness.

  10. Jenn says:

    Pink. My favorite color.

    How did you guess?

  11. Veronica says:

    I did a breast cancer awareness post yesterday.

    Hope you are feeling okay today 🙂

  12. Hi,
    I am Martha from Respectance, and I am new to your blog.
    Respectance is a site where people can share their memories, creating tributes to themselves, and to loved ones.
    We’ve set up a whole campaign for the month of October surrounding breast cancer awareness. We are hoping to provide a place for people to gather and share their storeis of hope, love, friendship and pain.
    Any fundraising for breast cancer will be supported by Respectance. We are passing all donations through to the various charities of choice. Please come and have a look, share it with your friends. Tell your story and we can help heighten awareness, and raise money to find a cure.
    http://www.respectance.com/breastcancerawarenessmonth
    Thanks.

  13. KillerBoob says:

    whyMommy –
    finally able to check in now that i’m home from the surgery. Yes, the hoopla around breasts and all the stuff for them becomes strangely…loud…sometimes.

    Wanted to say two other things: my mastectomy scar looked way better the one in the photo you linked (just FYI). And, if it hasn’t been said yet for the bra issues, go to a place that sells protheses (I only know thw word in French but if anyone wants more direction than that I’ll be happy to chat.)

  14. Oh, here’s the link to my breast cancer awareness post:
    http://theindividualvoice.blogspot.com/2007/10/awareness-month-breast-cancer-and-down.html
    the individual voice: Awareness Month: Breast Cancer and Down Syndrome

  15. I am a friend of your Aunt Linda’s in Martins Ferry. I write for the Wheeling, W.Va. newspapers. She told me about you and about inflammatory breast cancer, and I plan to run a feature on it Sunday, Oct. 14, as part of a Breast Cancer Awareness Month package. I’d love to include your story in the article! Please email me so we can set up a phone interview. Thanks!
    Betsy Bethel

  16. Leigh says:

    Hey! Look at you and all the fabulous comments you’ve gotten! You are doing so much to help others by sharing what’s going on with you. I read your blog almost every day and it makes me feel better for women who have breast cancer and are able to find your blog, because at a time in their lives when maybe they feel so betrayed and alienated in some way, you are helping them belong. You are my hero.
    Leigh

  17. ~JJ! says:

    You rock. This month…and always.

    I think Pink looks good on me.

  18. Erin says:

    Thinking of you.

  19. Think Pink

    In honour of Breast Cancer Awareness Month I want to direct you over to Toddler Planet where WhyMommy writes a great post about the subject. She knows first hand so while you are there send your words of encouragement.

  20. Jessica says:

    I just posted on Breast Cancer Awareness on my blog–
    http://ahugaroundtheneck.blogspot.com/2007/10/october-is-breast-cancer-awareness.html

    You are really a phenomenon spreading the word the way you do…great, amazing, fantastic job.

  21. Kristin says:

    Our MOMS Club had Pink Playgroups this morning. Here’s the link:

    http://kristinandlogan.blogspot.com/2007/10/pink-playgroup-this-morning-club-had.html

    I’m on the board as MVP & wanted to do this for one of our service projects because Komen paid for my ultrasound a couple of months ago. I went in to get The Lump checked out because of your blog & experiences.

    Thanks for motivating women everywhere to get checked out! I probably would have ignored the lump for many more months otherwise.

  22. Leeann says:

    You are wonderful and an inspiration! I am setting up a pink post right now!

  23. JAMs Wife says:

    Thank you for all the great information you provide us with. I will make sure to put up a post.

  24. JAMs Wife says:

    Thank you for all the great information you provide us with. My post is up at http://appropriatelycomplex.wordpress.com/2007/10/03/breast-cancer-awareness-month/

  25. […] There are some really great links and activities in the comments on this post! […]

  26. […] of Breast Cancer Awareness Month I want to direct you over to Toddler Planet where WhyMommy writes a great post about the subject. She knows first hand so while you are there send your words of […]