Looking for help? (cancer)

I’m still fighting pneumonia and the associated fatigue, but I received the most beautiful scarf in the mail from the people at L. Erickson’s Good Wishes program, which sends a silk scarf or head wrap to anyone losing their hair as a result of illness or treatment.  I’m assuming they mean cancer only and not alopecia, but it couldn’t hurt to ask!  Thank you, Good Wishes!

I’ve updated a resource page at Mothers With Cancer accordingly — check there if you’re helping a cancer patient and looking for resources for cleaning, cooking, hats and scarves, lymphedema sleeves, wigs, makeup, and how to organize to help a friend with cancer.  I don’t know what I’d have done without my friends this year and in 2007 – consider yourselves hugged!

Mothers With Cancer: Help page

19 Responses to Looking for help? (cancer)

  1. My thoughts and prayers are with you!

  2. Susan, we refer our clients to Good Wishes and their scarves and head wraps are gorgeous! My understanding is that they will support any woman going through medical hair loss. My friend Michele at http://www.fatthumb.com also makes hats for anyone with medical hair loss (including children).

  3. *m* says:

    Hugs to you, Susan. Hope you kick that pneumonia soon!

  4. Bon says:

    glad to know about Good Wishes. hope the pneumonia eases off soon: thinking bout you. 🙂

  5. magpiemusing says:

    Wow – that sounds like a great program. Hope you’re breathing more easily.

    Love to you, Susan.

  6. Diane says:

    Thinking of you!

  7. zapladybug says:

    I’ve been thinking of you – I hope you breathe easy & get your energy back soon.

    I also received a head wrap from Good Wishes earlier this year. It’s an incredible program staffed with wonderful people.

  8. Susan,
    Hope you are breathing easier and the pneumonia is on the downward slide. Just wanted to let you know you are in my thoughts.

  9. midnightmama says:

    Thank you for this- I’ve been reading for a while, and often wonder how you are. An acquaintance of mine was diagnosed with stage IV lymphoma very recently- out of the blue. While a fundraiser endeavor is in progress, we know it’s not enough, and this information you provided will ge given to her. Thank you thank you thank you fir thinking of others while you are also striving fir healing yourself.

    God bless you and your family, ease your pneumonia and bring you the best health.

  10. Much love to you! Consider yourself hugged right back 🙂
    I hope you are feeling much better soon.

  11. I’m happy you received such a nice surprise in the mail! Thanks for spreading the word about this organization. Hope you’re feeling a bit better. Sending good wishes.

  12. Eileen says:

    Thinking of you and your family.

  13. Diane says:

    Susan, I hope you are getting better from the pneumonia. I think about you, Curt and your little ones everyday.
    Diane

  14. Lisa Lester says:

    Susan, Our little Good Wishes family is still rooting for you – in all that you are going through right now. Just to let everone know, we provide these wraps to anyone experiencing hairloss due to illness or treatment; chemo, surgery, alopecia, medications, etc. Thank you, Susan, for being a Bridge for us and sharing Good Wishes with your community. Take care! All my best, Lisa.