Saturday night

In real life:  Pain, pain, pain.  In bed again, trying to forget the pain and wait patiently for the oncologist’s office hours on Monday.  And yes, my hair is still falling out.  It will probably take a few days to weeks for me to go completely bald.  Not much else is new.  I’m just stiff on my right side, elbow to skull, and the pain spasms occasionally, even through the meds.  So I’m trying not to think about it. 

In Second Life:  Dancing, without a care in the world.

SLdance

Even the Second Life version of the BlogHer Conference has awesome social events!

29 Responses to Saturday night

  1. Tracy says:

    I’m dancing right there with you!!! Keep on dancing girl!!!

  2. Robin says:

    Hey sorry I missed the party, we’re having a princess sleep over tonight. DH and I are hiding upstairs watching movies on my laptop while the princesses party downstairs. At least it will get our Netflix moving… Sorry I missed the party. I hope you got the pic of you and Elizabeth Edwards. Love the new dress!

  3. ohgrammy says:

    Dance, dance, dance!!!

  4. Matt says:

    Just keep dancing. Lots of positive energy flowing your way. I recommend a Samba.

  5. PrincessBlogMom says:

    And what an awesome dancer you are! It turns out I HAVE been to your site, via a link from Plain Jane, just took me a while to connect the dots. I hope SL gives you some relief during your recovery period (yes, I believe you WILL). I am going to make sure your information gets posted in several of my mommy groups b/c I had never heard of this form of cancer and it is something women should know about.

    Save a dance for me!

  6. Sheryl says:

    Just found your site tonight, and I want to join the team. You sound like an amazing woman with incredible strength. YOU CAN BEAT THIS! Sending up prayers in Arkansas.

  7. clifford says:

    Jennifer Grey (or her nosejob) ain’t got nuttin’ on you, YM.

  8. Anna says:

    I’m on your team, Whymommy. Hope some of these good wishes and prayers coming your way can ease some of your pain.
    I took your amazing post and shared it with my blogging world this morning. THANK YOU.

    Anna at http://hankandwillie.wordpress.com

  9. I am fervently hoping that the pain has eased by now. Hugs to you.

    And what an elegant dancer you are!

  10. ~JJ! says:

    DANCE girl!
    I’ll dance with you.

    hugs.

  11. Amanda says:

    You are the one on the dance floor turning heads – older couples watch you, misty as they remember their youth, little girls watch, starry eyed by your grace, grown women watch and envy you your confidence, men watch you and know that you are some kind of special, your children are watching and learning courage, faith and love and everyone else is watching you, pulling for you and standing along the edges of the dance floor ready, at a moment’s notice, to do your bidding.

    Keep breathing the music, sweet one.

  12. Take it moment by moment and day by day and before you know it things will be better!!

    Meanwhile, love those peeps and eat a brownie (after your dancy party of course)! 😉

  13. Aliki says:

    I’m so sorry about the pain–keep thinking of dancing, and flying, and know that I’m thinking of you.

  14. I just heard of your story through a post. I also posted about this at: http://thewholefamily1.blogspot.com/2007/07/inflammatory-breast-cancer-you-dont.html

    I’d love to be on your team as well.:-) I love how you said you’d be in your room with chocolate until further notice…that’s so me! LOL! You will be in my prayers and thoughts.

  15. Donna says:

    I’ve been reading and researching and praying and thinking about you daily. Keep dancing and hugging the little ones.

  16. Hi, Whymommy… Just checking in from the cottage, and your blog was the first one I chose to look at. I’ve been thinking of you a lot these past few days, and praying that things are improving in the pain department!! That Second Life thing is incredible– I’m so glad you’re able to “dance” through all of this!! You’re amazing… Just keep dancing and kicking that cancer’s ass, now, you hear?? Just remember what Canape says– the pain is the cancer loosening it’s hold on one Very Strong Woman… As soon as I get a little more time online, your IBC post will be on my blog, too. Lots of love to you xoxo

  17. mcewen says:

    Keep on dancing, we hear you.
    Best wishes

  18. mrs. chicken says:

    thinking of you, you brave, brave girl.

  19. Heather says:

    Hi…i’m dawn’s sister (coming to a nursery near you) I found your blog from being on her’s and let me tell you I have cried…my nana had breast cancer and she beat it…you will to..I don’t know if your religous…i’m not that religous but i found this prayer and thought of you..i hope you like it.

    A Prayer for the Breast Cancer Diagnosis…

    When rough the path from day to day,
    When sorrows fill our eyes with tears,
    Our choice to find our joy in Christ
    Can soothe our soul and calm our fears.

  20. Thanks for stopping by. i came over to lurk after Jenster sent me you way last night, and left praying for you, empowered by you, and cheering you on. Blessings. YOu can do this!!!!!

  21. Stimey says:

    You are an amazing woman. Dance and breathe and know we love you.

  22. christine says:

    don’t stop dancing. ever. hang in there.

  23. Lynn says:

    Hi, you may remember me from DCUM…we corresponded about food intolerances…(now seems so banal). Anyway, hope you are starting to feel a bit better….hanging in till Monday. I thought of you tonight because the New York Times has an article about cancer and as part of the online forum, a physician who is President of the American Cancer Society is responding to reader questions tomorrow. I thought this might be something you would be interested in. You can submit your questions tonight. Here is the link:

    http://science.blogs.nytimes.com/2007/07/28/readers-questions-cancer/

  24. E :) says:

    Just thought you should know that I’ve also stolen your breast cancer post and are encouraging people to steal it from me also…

  25. whymommy says:

    Wonderful! Lynn, I’ve submitted a question about underreporting and underpublicizing IBC … we’ll see if they choose it! Thanks for the tip!

  26. […] and elegant conference in Chicago. It was first class all of the way. The Second Life strand was a special place for folks who couldn’t attend. Lots of folks who made their first trip to Chicago felt like they were well taken care […]

  27. […] Toddler Planet and Second Life dancing. […]

  28. Jennifer says:

    I’m just now catching up on all my reading…hope you are feeling less pain.

    Glad you had a great time at Second Life, wish I could’ve made it and met you!

  29. This is my first time on this blog. I’ll definitely be back. Keep dancing, you look beautiful.