Oct 07

Archived from front page; originally posted 10-1-07

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. I’m collecting links to October 2007 breast cancer awareness month posts here IF they specifically mention inflammatory breast cancer. Thanks — and feel free to use anything on my site that you’d like to use to make your points!

To kick it off, I’d like to share something neat that Canape’s friend Boo is doing to celebrate this month. She’s playing in the Symphony of Hope, in memory of her good friend Wendy, and in honor of me and another friend. Canape herself has “pinked” her blog and added “ask me about IBC” to the header. I’m moved beyond words.

Bon, CandyGirlFlies, Jenn, Jessica, C.E., and other blogfriends are walking and talking to raise awareness.

Here are some posts celebrating Breast Cancer Awareness Month:

Hopes and Prayers for a Cancer-Free-Tomorrow (9/24). Two Shews hit a double-header (9/26) with her post against Facebook’s censorship and for breast cancer awareness. !

MultiTasking Mommy says, “My blog is going pink for you this month!” Kristen at Motherhood Uncensored went pink too! The Hatfields went pink for October in honor of their mother’s very recent breast cancer diagnosis. Colloquium urges us all to go pink. I wish I could, but on wordpress.com, I’m sadly limited. My review blog, Review Planet, tried to go pink, but it’s really rather purple instead. Temporarily Me, Gaining Balance, and a ton of other blogs went pink successfully!

Here are some other great blog posts for Breast Cancer Awareness month; every single one talks about IBC: Joy in Chaos (9/28); Dr. Savta (10/1); The Lady Speaks (10/1); The Tardy Teacher (10/1), Gift of Green (10/1) and Mom Chatter (10/1) also went pink; It’s An Insane World (10/1); A Hug Around the Neck (10/2); Tales from the Carpool Lane; Alpha+Mom; Toddler Drama (10/4); The Individual Voice (10/4); Twintastic (10/5); Phoenix Says went pink for me (10/7); Mamanista (10/7); Lipstick to Crayons (10/8); Fitlinks (10/9); Imposter Mom (10/11); Mommy and the Marine (10/16), Verb (10/16), The Dairy Wife (10/19); Skywritings (10/20); I’m getting finger cramps trying to keep up with all of you wonderful people!

Magnetobold dedicated her 100th post to me. Mommy’s Getaway is talking about the Virtual Walk, which is way cool. Not Just a Working Mom joined Team WhyMommy and wrote about it recently. The World Through the Eyes of Me is walking and writing in support of her mother, fighting recurrent breast cancer. The Life and Times of a First Time Mom hosted a pink playgroup, and let me know about it because she went to get a lump checked out because of (little old) me!

The Hotfessional is doing something fun! She also wrote this. My Little Drummer Boys and Baby Talkers joined Team WhyMommy on 10-7 and posted the 7-23 post on IBC!

MSN had an interesting article on The Pink Campaign; thanks to my friend Joanne for including my comments and the words inflammatory breast cancer both there and on her Pundit Mom site! She also asked her blogfriends to click for her birthday (10/15). Way cool. Marlene on the Run joined Team WhyMommy and posted the 7-23 post on 10/18.

My friend at And Then She Said wrote a great post on 10-5. Her mom died of IBC, and my heart breaks for them, that she never got to know her beautiful grandson. He is adorable. Go click and see!

StrollerDerby celebrated Breast Cancer Awareness Month on 10/10 by posting links to many of us fighting for our lives.

Fizzledink is back. On 10-10, in one of her first posts, she joined Team WhyMommy and talked about IBC. Welcome back, Fizz! My virtual friend Lynn actually started her blog, Organic Mania, on 10-11 with a post about us, IBC, and her friend Susan. Also on 10-11, The Ramblings of a Woman posted a cute one about Waddling for the Cure and Imposter Mom reminds us to take joy in the little moments as she goes pink and donates to help find a cure. Changing More Than Diapers did a nice post too — and check out her cute kids! Mountain Momma went pink and has a link to IBC research on her page. On the other hand, Moms Speak Up wonders if going pink is enough (10/25) and remembers her friend who fought breast cancer for 8 years.

Crunchy Domestic Goddess reminds us that breastfeeding can help lower your risk of breast cancer — and your baby girl’s risk too! MommyK in the Great Walls of Baltimore just had a 26-year-old friend diagnosed, and she wants us all to do our self-exams or remind the women in our lives to do them.

Killer Boob gives props to the Breast Cancer Site and publicized our Fox 5 media clips on 10/24! Gorge Mamas and Papas saw the blurb about me in Parents Magazine, visited Toddler Planet, and wrote a nice post for their readers on 10/25.

Stimey wrote a beautiful post about me on the DC Metro Mom Blog (10/25) and the media attention that IBC is getting on Fox news. Her piece was crossposted on the Chicago Moms Blog and the Silicon Valley Moms Blog too!

A series of strange coincidences have reintroduced me to a woman who had her first babies when I did, Mel from Stirrup Queens, and I am grateful for that and the posting on her blog (10/27). Whirlwind used ME as her pink item for Photo Hunt Saturday (10/27)! What Fun! Amanda at Incredible Life also posted my IBC post (10/29) and has a note about a woman she knows who was diagnosed with IBC soon after being pregnant. My heart goes out to her. Slacker-Moms-R-Us is on the ball with a post about breast cancer and IBC and motherhood, all wrapped up into one (10/28) She’s also doing a Pink for October giveaway on Halloween, so go check her out if you haven’t already.

There are some really great links and activities in the comments on this post!

Leave a link to your posts here … and don’t forget to do your breast self-exams, this month and every month!

friskthe15th

This page and all its links will remain posted at the top of my home page!

18 comments

Comments are closed.