Preschool

It’s a milestone day around the WhyFamily’s house!  Widget went to preschool today and DID NOT CRY.  For the first time since he started school nearly 2 weeks ago, there were no tears at dropoff.  I’m so proud.  I’m so happy I got to see this day.

And I will get to see so many more firsts.  Widget’s first day of kindergarten.  Then Little Bear’s first day of preschool.  Then kindergarten.  Middle school for them both.  High School.  College.  Graduation day.  I look forward to them all. 

Reason #5 I’m looking forward to surgery on Tuesday:
– Because I want to be there to see my kids off on their first day of school.  Every. Step. Of. The. Way.

hat1

 Where will Little Bear go to college?  Mississippi State, like Mommy’s friends Adam, Debbie, and Cliff?  Georgia Tech, like Mommy and Daddy?  Small school?  Large school?  Luckily, he has 17 years to decide!

candidate4days

31 Responses to Preschool

  1. Aww… I’m so happy for him. And you!

  2. coolbeans says:

    Way to go, Widget!

  3. Leann I Am says:

    What a great day! You must be very proud of him…that’s HUGE for most little ones!

    You’ll be there with bells on!!!!

  4. congratulations to both of you. 🙂

    you’ll be in my thoughts on tuesday. hugs.

  5. canape says:

    He’s going to go to Mississippi State and live in the rebuilt Pike house that my burned down while my dad lived there. Daddy was “studying for a math final” at the time.

    Uh-huh.

  6. strugi says:

    Way to go Widget and WhyMommy.

    Here is to many firsts, graduations, and celebrations of life!

  7. Mandi says:

    that’s wonderful! I totally know that feeling!

  8. ohthejoys says:

    Keeping you in my thoughts, friend!

  9. clifford says:

    Waaahooooo! *dances around office*

    It all depends on whether he prefers the pro-style two-back game (Missippy State) or some switcheroo wishbone option goodness a la Coach Johnson (GT).

    Is he going to class too?

  10. clifford says:

    M, your dad was a Pike? A PIKE??!?!!?

    But but but he’s such an intelligent, well-grounded fellow… I never figgered him for a Fireman.

  11. Wow, only two weeks in is pretty impressive! Way to go Widget, what a brave boy–just like his Mommy!

    You’ll be there for all those wonderful firsts! Hooray!

    Sending thoughts and prayers and hugs!

  12. Stimey says:

    SuperWidget! Way to go, little dude!

  13. tori says:

    That is wonderful! And so is your attitude about all of this. I’ll be thinking good thoughts/praying for you from now until after I hear about your surgery from you (that means I’ll keep sending my positive energy to you until you are recovered enough to tell me to stop).

  14. MAMA OF 5 says:

    I was on babycenter and found links to you.My sister just finished treatments for hodjkins lymphoma.She is now cancer free.I just wanted to stop by here and say good luck to you and your beautiful children.You never know how strong you are until you have to fight to be with your babies.you will come out on top.Keep your chin up,and remember…..you have alot of people prying for you!!!!!

  15. BetteJo says:

    Wonderful stuff – the strides they make. Every new thing, no matter how small, always brought tears to my eyes. Yay Widget!

  16. mamma knows says:

    He is gorgeous, beautiful eyes!

  17. OMG!! He is so adorable in that hat!

    Makes me wistful for those days….

  18. Bon says:

    Oscar is very taken with Little Bear – while i was reading this he was standing at my shoulder, dancing and pointing saying “hat! hat!”

    he’s recently become really excited about pictures of kids his own age, like he thinks they might come out of the screen and play with him (we talk to his cousins on webcam…i think that’s the reason).

    anyway, one more reason to look forward to surgery – so you can bring your boys to lovely PEI for the playdate O has just invited you to. 😉

  19. KDF says:

    Yay!!! Life is good. 🙂

  20. Carrie says:

    Horray for the little things (and the big ones, like not crying before school, that’s HUGE!).

  21. I’m awarding you a Lovely Pink Shameless Lion Writing Circle Award for writng about your IBS like an Amazon Warrior Princess of the Bloggerville Savanna. Come get your award whenever you like at:http://theindividualvoice.blogspot.com/2008/01/three-shameless-lionesses-of.html
    THE INDIVIDUAL VOICE: Three Shameless Lionesses of the Bloggerville Savanna

  22. hotfessional says:

    Four days! Four DAYS! Oh honey I’m so rooting for you. And your little one is precious.

  23. mummycha says:

    That’s a really cool picture!

    Lots of good thoughts to you and your family

  24. amanda says:

    I’ve not been a good visitor…I take that back, a good friend, at least that’s what I hope I am. I am thinking of you and will be sending you everything I can each day from here on out.

    Good luck friend, my condolences to the cancer whose ass you are about to kick.

  25. fizzledink says:

    Aww, way to go, Widget!!! My Smooch has just recently started walking into his class at church without crying – he even pushed at my legs when I chatted with his teacher for a while. Isn’t it a neat moment to see them doing something so grown up? 🙂

  26. Aunt Pat says:

    Way to go Widget !!

    You will be in our thoughts and our prayers on Tues.

    Take Care
    Lots of Love

  27. mcgearstella says:

    Just wanted to stop by and say I’m thinking of you with only 2 days left!

  28. motherofbun says:

    Yeay Widget! Wonderful news.

  29. lisa says:

    Just delurking to say, “Go Jackets!” and good luck with the surgery.