Prayers answered.

Our prayers have been answered, friends.  I saw the surgeon this morning and she has seen the (preliminary) pathology report.  I have two words for you:

Clean Margins.

The 6 months of chemo reduced the tumor in my right breast to a more manageable size.  The surgeon was able to cut it out completely, with a thin section of normal skin and tissue around all sides.  The very definition of clean margins.

But there’s more.

Remember my reasons for having a double mastectomy last week?  Remember that my first surgeon didn’t want to remove the second breast in this surgery, even though it would reduce my risk of breast cancer recurrence, and how I ended up going to a different surgeon, at a different hospital, who would?  Well, it turns out it was a very good idea.

Because my surgeon told me today that she was able to get clean margins on the tumors in both breasts.  I have had cancer in both breasts, friends. 

IBC in the right breast, and typical ol’ ductal carcinoma in the left.  The lab is still studying it to determine what stage the cancer on the left was and its characteristics, but three things are clear to me today:

1. Prayer works;

2. The double mastectomy was the right decision;

and

3. I am very, very lucky.

178 Responses to Prayers answered.

  1. Amy says:

    WOW! More proof – never doubt your intuition. Thank GOD!

    So happy and relieved for you and your family. This is the best news I’ve heard in a long time. YAY!!

  2. Bubba's Sis says:

    Praise God!! That is EXCELLENT news! God sure led you to make the right decision about the double mastectomy. Way to go, girl! Cancer be damned!!

  3. Oh my God.

    That is a miracle.

    Cancer in the other breast? I almost cannot process that. But it’s gone now. So I don’t need to. And neither do you.

    WONDERFUL news.

  4. Christy says:

    Thank GOD you had the double. I never doubted your instinct to do it for a second.

    You are one very very lucky woman.

  5. Heather says:

    Intuition and prayer are powerful things. Overjoyed for you and your family and the amazing news. Radiation…bring it on because Susan has a whole lotta living to do!

  6. De Anna says:

    I checked back just before bed hoping you had posted. That was fast and WOW I couldn’t be happier for you!
    Just WOW! This is amazingly wonderful.

  7. Angela says:

    I cannot thank you enough for posting this tonight. I caught your twitter update that seemed a bit foreboding, and I would have been wonderin’ all night.

    HUUUUUURRRRRRRRRAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYY!!!!!

    And yet another example of how we must trust our gut instincts, no?

  8. WOW… just wow. Amazing.. such, such good news. Good for you! ASS KICKING!

  9. Judy says:

    Oh, praise God.

    *tears* (of joy)

  10. Margaret R. says:

    Oh, thank heaven. I got so worried, reading your Twitter post, and now I can’t stop smiling, smiling, smiling!

  11. Joan says:

    What WONDERFUL news, Susan! I well remember my mastectomy day almost a year ago. When the surgeon gave me my good news path report it felt like such a gift!!

    “A boob is a small price to pay for a life,” was my reaction.

    Good for you to have had both taken at the same time, clearly a smart decision. I am considering having my remaining boob removed at some point.

    I now feel I was born once 50+ years ago and was given my life for a second time in 2007, following my diagnosis and treatment.

    Best wishes for every day of your “regifted” life.

  12. Colleen says:

    My eyes are just filled to the brim with tears.
    So happy for you… and so so glad that you stuck to your choice and were strong enough with your decision that you searched out a surgeon and hospital that would do what you wanted.
    Just so very happy for you!

  13. sara says:

    Thank you Jesus! Praise Him! Thank you Thank You.

    Susan, I’m so happy for you. Will keep tossing prayers up for you, and tons of praise.

  14. […] continues at whymommy brought to you by cancer.medtrials.info and […]

  15. spacemom says:

    CLEAN MARGINS!!! AWESOME news!

    I am glad that you did the DBL…

  16. divrchk says:

    Congrats! That is just fantastic news. I never doubted that you were making the correct decision. Who would want to be uneven anyway? 🙂 Gut instincts along with well thought out reasons are never wrong.

    Will they be radiating both sides now?

  17. […] Original post by J.D. – MySpace Blog […]

  18. Marianne says:

    Hallelujah!!!

    This is GREAT news!

  19. clifford says:

    yep and yep. Awesome, S.

  20. Oh, my goodness gracious. Unbelieveable. That was a good decision, wasn’t it?

  21. kgirl says:

    That’s amazing news, truly. Conratulations, and wow, what a relief. Just amazing. Whew.

  22. Oh, Susan… all those three things you said, plus one more: Trust your own instincts.

    You were SO right to follow your feelings, and find a surgeon who would honour your request to do the double. It took tremendous courage and strength of character on your part to be your own best advocate, as well as going through with your treatment and surgery!

    I am in awe of you… and so very, very happy.

    Much love, as always, CGF xo

  23. Fern says:

    That is unbelievable! What a miracle — SUCH a good choice you made.

    I’m so glad you got the drain out that was causing you such pain, too.

    You are freaking amazing.

  24. Thank God you followed your gut. Good for you and congratulations.

  25. Mary Beth says:

    Congratulations on clean margins and one less drain!!! I did not have cancer in both breasts but decided on the bilateral also. My feeling was that I spoke to many people who removed one and either had gone back later to remove the other or the cancer came back in the other, but I did not hear from anyone that had a double but wished they only had removed one. As usual everyone has to do what is right for them… you now know your decision was right for you. Hope you sleep well tonight.

  26. Kristen says:

    I’ve been reading since just before your diagnosis,
    never commented, but this post made me cry. Thank God you listened to your inner voice that got you to a different doctor. I did the same a number of years ago, and had I not insisted on a Hysterectomy, I would not be here right now. Our inner voice sends strong and important messages…we must always trust it. Cancer left me with a few gifts…I enjoy every day, I NEVER take life for granted, and I love my children, husband, and family in a tear your heart out kind of wonderful way. God bless you. It sound like you got the gifts too.

  27. Crystal D says:

    God is good. I am so happy that your prayers have been answered.

  28. Dawn says:

    I can’t tell you how wonderful this news it to hear. Congratulations!

  29. musingmommy says:

    Congrats on the clean margins! That’s wonderful news, and I’m so happy everything is working out.

    Great instincts, too! I’m glad you had the double mastectomy.

    I’m wishing a speedy recovery for you!

  30. Oh, WhyMommy. I don’t have words. I just don’t.

    I am just so … is happy the right word? It doesn’t feel right, if that makes sense? Rambling, as I do best…

    Prayers answered, indeed. I’m so grateful, thankful… a whole bunch of things… for you. You.are.a.miracle. An.Angel.

    hugs!!!!
    xxx

  31. […] I was just over at WhyMommy’s blog and got some great news that you just gotta go see for yourself!  I’m so happy […]

  32. More good news indeed! I am also glad that you are more comfortable b/c of the drain tube removal. My continued prayers for a speedy recovery.

  33. Stimey says:

    Again, congratulations. I’m glad you got the double too. Yikes. Hooray for clean margins!

  34. mousewords says:

    Not only is God with you, He’s in it for the long haul. :-):-) Rejoicing with you over good news and praying for you always!

  35. Jenn says:

    Amen.

    In between tears of gratitude, amen.

  36. motherofbun says:

    Wish I could have read this post sooner. I could have told them your good news! Was in WD’s hometown tonight talking with Rita, Cindy, Dan, Candace and my brother. They’ve been thinking of you lots. 🙂 Then again, so have many of us.

    Good to hear you’ve got reinforcements to help with the kiddos.

  37. Bubba's Mom says:

    Child, you are not lucky – you are blessed! As a cancer survivor (& now a patient again) i know the relief those words “clean margins” can bring to your mind. God was with you and will be with you until this thing is over. You have such support – all these wonderful women posting on your blog & praying for you – cheering you on. I know how that must comfort you. I wish you all the best & will carry you in my heart.

  38. KG says:

    I am so thankful that you made the choice you made. I’m a first-time commenter, and I’ve only been following your blog for a few weeks (I found out about it from wonderful folks on Twitter), and I had to comment tonight.

    You are an amazing, strong, courageous human being. From one mom to another, I am in total awe of you. You have such clarity amidst all of this tough stuff. You are inspiration.

    Much light and healing vibes to you for the rest of your recovery. 🙂

  39. Mama DB says:

    Holy cow, Susan! I’m so happy to hear that the margins came back clean. And the double was so the way to go. How scary.

    I know we’ve never met and I’m an infrequent commenter but I am so happy for you and your family I can hardly sit still.

    Love and virtual hugs to you. I hope you are able to rest well tonight.

    Danielle

  40. mayberry says:

    That is amazing. And wonderful. And wonderfully amazing! I am so happy for you and your family.

  41. Arkie Mama says:

    Wow — way to run with those instincts! What fantastic news — clean margins!

    YAY!

  42. Joc says:

    So glad you followed your intuition. So happy to hear that you are on the mend. I have been away on holidays for a few weeks, but thought of you often and sent out a little prayer when I did.

  43. mumof4 says:

    OMG that is SUCH good news – and good on you going to a different surgeon for the double.

  44. geekmommy says:

    Oh Thank Heaven!

    What wonderful news!! I understand why it was so hard to find the words for it – but I’m so glad to hear it!!

    (((hug)))

    And echoing my gladness that you followed your heart and went for the double.

  45. jen says:

    hallelujah, you brave, extraordinary woman, you.

  46. E :) says:

    WOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

  47. Robin says:

    Such incredibly wonderful news! Always, ALWAYS trust that little voice inside of you.

    Doing a big giant happy dance around my living room!

  48. Qutecowgirl says:

    omg. Thank goodness you went with your gut feeling. Sometimes we do know better the the doctors.

    Yeah for clean margins!!!

    =)

  49. JoC says:

    Fantastic news!!! That is one smart little voice you have there and a smart woman to listen to it in face of many obstacles. Keep on trudging!

  50. Clean margins.

    The most wonderful words ever.

    And someone was shining down on you ensuring you went with your gut instincts.

  51. Ella says:

    This is absolutely wonderful news. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

  52. All I can say is wow…

  53. Mamma Knows says:

    The very first sentence of your post made me smile, words can’t describe how happy I’am for you and your family.

  54. ~JJ! says:

    Wow. That is phenomenal news woman.

    I am so happy!

    Kinda makes last nights episode…dare I say, bearable?

    I know I’ve said this to you before, but you so totally rock sister.

    I am in awe of you. Truly.

  55. margaret says:

    Wow, amazing. It’s good you trusted your intuition and insisted on that other surgery. You are a lucky woman. I’m glad to hear you are doing well.

  56. I am so glad and grateful for you.

  57. Terri says:

    excellent post to start the day. very happy for you and your family.

  58. High heels backwards says:

    Congratulations!!! And congratulations on having the strength to be your own best advocate in the face of experts who were trying to steer you differently. I am SO happy for you and your family.

    Eve

  59. Cheryl says:

    What fantastic news. Way to trust your gut! I am so happy for you and your family.

  60. cousin in law says:

    Praise to the Father of Good Things !!!!!!!!!!!!

    We Love you Susan. Keep Fighting !!

  61. Lauren says:

    Congratulations!! That is wonderful news!!

  62. Maggie says:

    I’m utterly speechless.

    Two (at least) things to thank God for here. The clean margins, but also the lesson for all the others out there.

    Wish I could think of more/different ways to say this, but… You are amazing. Thank you.

  63. I have chills all over reading this–Hallelujah and Thank God! I’m so, so indescribably happy for you, and amazed at how the universe works.

    Sending hugs and prayers and love!!!

  64. tori says:

    I am so incredibly happy right now! What an amazing gift, and good for you for trusting your instincts when you decided to have both removed. I am so happy for you!

  65. Linda Lawrence says:

    Wow! Wow! Unbelievable! I would write more, but I am speechless. We know prayer works, but wow!

    Love from all of us,
    Aunt Linda

  66. Jen says:

    It’s so Pat Robertson but PRAISE THE LORD!!! I am so thrilled for you Susan! What a wonderful wonderful bit of news.

    BTW, not surprised by the other boob. My mom had it in both too. Our doc said that is fairly typical.

    WOO HOO!

  67. AMEN.
    Thrilled for you and your family, your boys.

  68. MplsChica says:

    Amen, amen, amen!

    Vibes of gratitude and peace to you and yours!

  69. Nickie says:

    I am so happy for you! That’s the most awesome news!!

  70. KAL says:

    Terrific! I’m so very happy for you and your family.

  71. Leanne says:

    Amen!! That’s such good news, and so glad you switched surgeons. What a blessing she turned out to be!

  72. NoRegrets says:

    You are very lucky, but people help create their luck, and you are very smart too, so that definitely contributed.

    So now that the boobs are gone, do you find yourself tipping backwards? 🙂

  73. magpie says:

    OMG – that gave me goosebumps. I’m so happy for you.

    Continued good healing.

  74. Susan K says:

    Wow.

    Clean margins!

    And validation (not that you really needed it) of the double choice.

    And one less drain.

    Wow.

  75. Jessica says:

    Can we get a WOOT WOOT!?!?

    Thank God and all that is holy that this was the news… So many prayers have been answered my friend!! 🙂 I’ll be thinking of you still in these upcoming weeks of recovery, I hope you’re doing well…

    ::Hugs::

  76. Jason Horne says:

    Susan,
    We’re all praying for you. Happy to hear the great news of your recovery.

  77. Meg says:

    Amen and Hallelujah!

  78. Miss Britt says:

    Thank God for your intuition, and your ability to listen to it.

  79. Kathryn says:

    Thank God you followed your instinct. I am so happy for your wonderful news. Congratulations!!!

  80. ColleenZ says:

    Oh my God – Susan. I can’t believe it. I mean, I can believe it, but holy Pete. I’m flooded with tears here — of joy and also of wonder. Praise be to God.

  81. Your oldest friend, Adam says:

    Hallelujah! Praise God forever.

  82. brandy says:

    I seriously cannot imagine the overwhelming feelings you must be having right now. I want to cry and happy-dance and I’ve never even met you! 🙂
    Congratulations on the most awesome news.

  83. Alison says:

    What relief!!!!

  84. bubandpie says:

    I am astonished. Praise God.

  85. Tara-Lynn says:

    Doing the hip hip hooray dance for you here in Canada. Thank GOD you trusted your insticts. Happy day, indeed!

  86. Kellie says:

    Great news. Intuition is an awesome thing. I do have a question, though, if you don’t mind. Did you get a MRI prior to your surgery?

    Hope you get well soon. Hugs and more hugs.

  87. Joanna says:

    Oh My GOODNESS, WM. Congratulations on your clean bill of health, and this after such news – you are really courageous and a role model to all women. I do wonder: how did the chemo not treat the left breast as well as the right? Does chemo ‘target’ certain areas of the body? My word, I just can not believe it. But I am so, so happy for you that you followed your intuition and had the double. Prayers, continued, Internet-friend –

  88. M&Co. says:

    Congratulations! That’s great news.

  89. KDF says:

    Chin is on the floor here. Wow.

    Not only did you kick cancer’s ass, you pre-kicked it AGAIN before it even had a chance. Way to go, Susan.

  90. deb says:

    Good news, I’m thankful, probably not as much as you, but still, I’m thankful.

    Take care sweetie.

  91. zamejias says:

    Wonderful news. I believe in prayers a lot. Even those unanswered still.

  92. Liz says:

    Fantastic news. What sweet words. Good on you for trusting your instinct. Wishing you a quick recovery.

  93. Stephanie says:

    God is so good to lead and protect us down the path that he has chosen.

    Susan, you continue to be an inspiration to us all.

  94. She She says:

    Thank god. It’s all good news!

  95. Aileen says:

    Congrats! That is great news. And how good of you to find the MD that would give you what you wanted (and probably instinctively knew you needed).

  96. C in MT says:

    Wonderful news!!

  97. Oh, The Joys says:

    Thank God. Truly.

    xo,
    J

  98. peppermint t says:

    So, so glad for you!!

  99. Nancy says:

    Wonderful, wonderful news. The best I’ve heard all week for sure!

  100. Kat says:

    Praise God from whom ALL blessings flow!!!!!

    I got chill bumps when I read this!

    Happy Happy News!!

    Hugs!
    Kat

  101. Chicky says:

    WhooHoo! That’s great news.

  102. Janine says:

    We are rejoicing with you over the wonderful news you received from your doctor. Our prayers will continue for a speedy recovery.
    Love, Janine and Robert

  103. mummycha says:

    Oh, this is great! I am very glad you took the right decision of having a double mastectomy.

    Something I find scary though is the fact that that first surgeon you consulted suggested you do not get a DM. He was just just plain wrong.
    I am so, so glad you followed your instinct and took the best decision, even if it looked less engaging than the “simple” mastectomy option. You and your family can be very proud of yourself.

  104. That is awsome, I’m so happy you listened to your body and did what you felt was right for you… Which was obviously the right choice.

  105. liv says:

    Oh! This gave me the chills. I am so, so very happy for your wonderful news!

  106. Colleen says:

    Congratulations! What amazing, wonderful news. You deserve it (and much more).

  107. Gill says:

    That is just the best, best news! It brought tears to my eyes. I am absolutely thrilled for you. {{hugs}}

  108. Susan,

    It’s a God thing isn’t it?

    I was praying (thinking of you this morning) as I drove the kids to preschool.

    I was talking to God and said, “you know, sometimes you give us wakeup calls and reality checks that we don’t always understand, think we need or deserve, but in the big picture, you only threw Susan a “curve” in her life. I want to thank you God for that “curve”, and that, it was only a “curve” and you didn’t let her “slam” a brick wall instead. I also want to thank you God, that on that time line of life that you give us, Susan’s will run parallel to that of her children’s, and she will be here with them for many many years.”

    I’m glad you got clean margins … and I know the final path report will say the same thing. It’s a God thing I think.

    Tanya

  109. Jenn says:

    Thank God!!! What terrific news!

  110. lauren (diva65) says:

    Great news! Sometime we do know best and the drs don’t. I’m so happy for you.

  111. prayer absolutely works. whatever the outcome…. whatever the happenstance…. whatever it is– prayer brings us closer to God and that’s what really counts…. that and your beautiful life!

    healing and peace….

  112. Dawn says:

    oh… tears of horror over the “what if” ….

    all gone cuz of the beam on my face over clean margins!!!!

  113. Brian says:

    Very, very lucky indeed. That’s like hearing the elevator cable snap right after deciding to take the stairs.

  114. chaotic joy says:

    Oh praise God! What wonderful, scary but wonderful, news! Hurray hurray for Clean Margins!

  115. PunditMom says:

    OMG! I’m so glad you didn’t listen to that first doctor. This is an important lesson for all of us — to get as much information as possible and not to necessarily take the first word on treatment we get.

  116. Jenifer says:

    Whooo Hoooo….I just linked all my readers over here for some good news! I think we could all use some right about now.

    On a side note, I’ve enjoyed reading “what to do for a friend” section since one of the mothers on my sons baseball team was just diagnosed with breast cancer. Each family took one week to pamper her and the family. I know what my mother in law enjoyed, when going thru chemo, but this woman is 25 years younger then my MIL. Keep up the good work Susan! You are making a difference!

  117. Beth_C says:

    Praise the Lord! Prayer does work and God is reminding us through you that it does!

    I will continue to pray for you and your healing!

  118. Emily says:

    WOOOOOOHOOOOOOO!

    Congratulations! ((Dancing and giggling wildly))

  119. imstell says:

    Susan, I have no words to express how grateful I am that God was guiding your heart and you listened. If there is one thing I have learned over the years… it’s to trust my intuition. Every time I’ve gone the other direction I have regretted it. Wonderful news on the clear margins ON BOTH SIDES and we’ll just put the whole thing behind us to move towards radiation. When do you start?

  120. Anna says:

    Oh such good news. Oh joy.

  121. Keri says:

    I have just recently started reading your blog after hearing about your surgery. You have an amazing soul and appear to be surrouned with the most ideal and wonderful friends! Congrats and a THANK GOODNESS for the clean margins!!!!!

  122. Amanda says:

    My chills have chills and I am pretty sure that the little Rockette in my belly has a set of chills too! Oh, Whymommy, we are ALL so lucky.

    Love to you and your family as you rejoice!

  123. Lauren says:

    FANTASTIC NEWS!!!! 🙂
    I have been following your blog since before the diagnosis and through all that has happened since. I cannot begin to tell you how happy I am for you and your family!!
    I’ve sent up prayers on your behalf before and now I get to send up prayers of gratitude- what a beautiful day!
    Lots of love to you all!

  124. gammavh says:

    I can’t even put into words how glad I am for you.

    Woo Hoooooo!!!!!!!!!!!

  125. KC says:

    This is wonderful!!! So happy for you.

    Yes, prayer works. So does second opinions.

  126. Lisa says:

    I am so relieved to hear that they got clean margins on …both (?!?!?)… still collecting myself after that one… sides. Thank God for your great researching mind!!
    We all send our love and hope that all the drains and pains disappear quickly so we can get to playing! The kids have a great new toy to share on a rainy day!
    With love,
    Lisa

  127. Margaret says:

    De-lurking to say THANK GOD!!!!!!

  128. KillerBoob says:

    i LITERALLY just stood up and did a little jig. My finanee thought I was being very strange until I explained. Oh happy day.

    What a shocker about the other cancer. And a different type of BC. That’s wild. But you snuck up on it and bonged it onthe head, you smart thing you 🙂

  129. Aimee says:

    FANTASTIC!!! Fantastic enough to make me de-lurk and say I’m SO happy for you and your family.
    Best wishes and prayers for a continually clean margin kind of life 🙂

  130. I am sooo happy for you!! We all have Guardian angel’s, you were just strong enough to listen….

    Brightest Blessings to all…

  131. whymommy says:

    Thank you! To answer a couple questions, yes I did have an MRI on Christmas Eve, and no cancer was shown in the left breast. I don’t really understand this result yet. It might be another kind that doesn’t show up easily, or it might have been really small then. Yes, chemo should have worked on it, and maybe it did. I don’t understand that yet either. And in answer to the third question, I start radiation as soon as I can lift my arm above my head for 45 minutes. 2 weeks yet, we think. More posting later.

  132. feener says:

    god bless. you are one amazing human being.

  133. laurak says:

    Yes, you are very, very lucky. (And who gets to say that after finding cancer in both breasts?) And yes, that is very very scary. I’m glad you trusted your own judgment. After all, who could possibly know your body better than you, right?

    I’d love to meet you in October when I’m in DC for the 3-day.

  134. D... says:

    I am here via Bubba’s Sis’ blog. I just wanted to add my well wishes to all the ones above. Praise God about your awesome news. And praise God that you listened to your instincts and had the double masectomy.

  135. Meredith says:

    I think it’s always a good idea to trust your instincts, and I’m so glad that you did. Your post made me smile.

  136. Ali says:

    Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

  137. Annie says:

    Blessed!

    I wish you continued healing.

  138. Nicole says:

    I’m so happy!

    Prayers do work!

    God Bless You!

  139. Jacquie says:

    Fan-freakin-tastic!! Those are 2 great words!

  140. Susan says:

    Absolutely wonderful. And very nice to meet you. 🙂

  141. hotfessional says:

    I’m so happy for you and yours Susan. XX

  142. jen lemen says:

    whoa! that is serious. i’m so glad you followed your gut and did what your intuition was telling you. amazing.

  143. Hallelujah.

    I’m so very happy for you and your family. May your road to recovery be swift and smooth.

  144. VDog says:

    I literally got goose bumps reading this. So very happy for you and your family.

    Congratulations.

  145. Ally says:

    I my goodness, Susan, this post just made me weep with relief and gratitude. You are such a smart mama for “making it a double.” I am just so, so thankful.

  146. Angela says:

    OMG! I too had goosebumps reading about them finding cancer in the other breast and the Clean Margins, wonderful!

    And that word, “had,” man that’s a beautiful word!

    Congratulations on your results! Now hopefully you’ll be drain free and pain free very soon.

  147. mo-wo says:

    Oh WM – you are so much more than lucky. You are so wise and brave and strong and — just look at that picture over there — beautiful.

    I love your smile. I love how that picture reminds me of what your smile must be a little bit like in real life.

    It gives that little bit more of a shape to the smile I imagine you might have over this news.

    Me, too.

    ps… if congratulations is the right word I send that along

  148. jethro says:

    I guess I am not the only one who is grateful to hear this. Congrats. I have often reflected that prayer really does work. It is always wonderful to hear another person testify of that as well.

  149. Mrs. Flinger says:

    I’m so happy for you. 🙂 I am so totally new here, Like just now, but I’m so glad. SO SO glad for you!!

  150. Kim says:

    I can’t believe you had BC in both breasts! I am so very, very happy to hear this report. Congratulations on these wonderful results!!

  151. Randi says:

    PRAISE THE LORD!!! I’m BEYOND excited and happy for you! What a WONDERFUL post to read first thing in the morning:)

    HUGS to you!!!

  152. Bon says:

    sweet lord. i was offline yesterday due to a storm…but what news to come back to! i am full with joy for the clean margins, Susan, and just shaking at the news of the cancer in your other breast…so glad you made the decision you did. so glad you had the courage and wisdom to look at it as you did.

  153. Robin says:

    WOW!! That is the best of the best news!! And to think you had cancer starting on the other side while undergoing chemo?!?
    I’m so happy for you doesn’t even begin to say enough 🙂

  154. megan says:

    This post gave me chills. Thank goodness you trusted yourself and advocated for yourself. Go God!

  155. Kimberly says:

    OMG…I am so thrilled for you and shocked at the same time. Cancer in the other breast? I can hardly believe it. Thank God you did the double. Thank God. I am so happy for your margins, Susan. So, so, so happy!!!
    xo

  156. JR says:

    I’m still reeling from the news from the left side! So that was what that ambiguous MRI was all about… Thank God you pushed for the double mastectomy.

    But CLEAN MARGINS on BOTH sides. How wonderful!

    The fact that you can be recovering from a double mastectomy, absorbing the news of two different types of cancer at the same time, waiting to have the second staged, and still see your good fortune (rather than the reverse, as many would) epitomizes everything I’ve come to admire about you through reading your posts.

  157. Jenster says:

    I’m so glad you received clean margins. That is such an answer to prayer.

    And talk about confirmation for making the right decision!

  158. Mama Snyder says:

    I don’t know you, and have only visited your blog a couple of times before, but – I have tears on my cheeks and a smile on my face – all because of your good news.

    Congratulations and continued prayers for you. They DO work.

  159. Lynn in GA says:

    The best two words in the world! Congrats!

  160. luckyzmom says:

    PRAISE GOD!!!!!

  161. Christine says:

    Thank goodness for the wisdom to trust your own instincts and fight for what you felt was right for your body. So thankful for you that you had clean margins — wishing you the most speedy of recoveries!

  162. Rebecca says:

    Thank God. I am so happy and relieved for you this evening.

  163. planetnomad says:

    Oh I am so glad you had the double! WOW.

    And praise God! “Clean margins” are the two happiest words in the English language right now 🙂

  164. Joeymom says:

    Holy cow… and thank God. Here’s to full recovery and full remission on top of it all!

  165. mp6685 says:

    Every once in a while God lets us have our way..Thankfully this was one of them!!

  166. Andi says:

    That is amazing! I am so happy for you. Now you will have many more years to spend with your sweet boys.

  167. SuzyQatHome says:

    Yes! Thank God you decided on the double – and on the new surgeon.

    I’m so glad that you have clean margins!

  168. BetteJo says:

    I am so far behind on my blog reading – holy cow! I think I’m the last to hear the good news but oh WHAT GOOD NEWS! Amazing! It’s only uphill from here – SO happy for you AND your family!

  169. T says:

    So very happy for you and your family!

  170. Jungle Mama says:

    Amen! Bless you and your family and may you celebrate your life. This has made me smile today.

  171. Janet says:

    You really do need to be your own advocate, don’t you?

    That’s amazing, wonderful news.

  172. Andrea says:

    Hello dear. I have been following all this post op stuff vehemently waiting to hear how you are, my blogging friend. Praise God for clear margins. I never got them but this chemo I am on is very effective and I feel good. I too insisted my other breast be removed and they did indeed find cancer there as well. Interesting. Thank God we are informed and outspoken…otherwise we could be dead! Much love to you my IBC sister. Much love, Punk rock mommy

  173. Judith Scheid says:

    I am so glad that you are doing well. Your article in HEALTH magazine is the first I’ve read on IBCsince my diognosis last July 31.I was told to go home and take care of my affairs.I went through the first four chemos pretty good. i was sick but made it. Then they gave me dosataxil.Not so good. I’m allergic to yew trees and the chemo is made from them.To make a long story short I have never been so sick. I couldn’t take it. So my oncologist sent me back tomy surgeon. I lost my left breast on 10/29/07. left the hospital on 10/30 and was back in a nurse practioner’s office on10/31 with lymphadema. Another thing I’ve never heard of. I too have clean perameters. Since the surgery I’ve had 9 weekly doses of pasataxil.It also made me sickVery sick.Then I had six weeks of daily radiation. Was very badly burned with that. I couldn’t use the medication given for burns beacause of allergys. Now I’m back on chemo a triple dose every three weeks for a year. Had my first one last tuesdayand I’m not sick. Hrurah. I also take a hormone treatment that will last five years. that makes me sick. I have morning sickness. I can’t be pregnant as I’m 66 years old. I’ve been it tharpary for my lymphadema for two months now. some weeks good some weeks not.
    this isn’t going to beat me. I have a great grand son I want to watch grow. He was born in February 08. One day my case will be in JAMA. Thank you for getting word of this disease out. I went into it blind.