BlogHer pass

So, I’m not going to BlogHer now.  I’m totally, utterly bummed.  But I’ll be having my second round of chemo that weekend, and I hear it’s not a good idea to put those things off. 

If you’re a blogger who’s been on the fence, for whatever reason, and you want to go, here’s your chance.  I’ve got a prepaid registration (courtesy Parent Bloggers and Light Iris a few weeks back), and I want to give it away!

Yes, there’s a writing assignment.  Isn’t there always?  Here’s the topic. 

“Survivor.”   Write a post this week about a person who inspires you, a person who has survived cancer, or motherhood, or her own personal challenge, and link back to this post so that I know you’re interested in the BlogHer pass.  I’ll pick a winner at random on Friday morning, send you the information you need to get registered for the BlogHer conference (FOR FREE!) and then you too can display this nifty little button on your sidebar. 

BlogHer '07 I'm<br>  Going

Runner up (or the winner, if you’ve already paid for your registration) can have my reservation at the W.  It’s not prepaid or anything, but it is a chance to get into the fancy hotel at a not-so-fancy price.

Everyone will be featured in a round-up post here on Monday, July 9.  Or as soon as I can pull my head out of the toilet after chemo.

26 Responses to BlogHer pass

  1. Ohhhh, I don’t know you and I know you will be missed. I am going to participate in your contest and I will be sending you all my thoughts for whatever it is you need most now — a good laugh, silence, comfort, healing, peace.

  2. K Moldofsky says:

    This is very thoughtful of you! The contest itself is a gift as it got me thinking of somenoe I haven’t seen or thought of in a while–a two-time survivor of breast cancer who is just about the strongest person I know- she’s a mom and a 2nd degree black belt in karate. She kicked cancer’s butt and so can you!

    PS If I win I promise to share the room wiht a fellow Chicago mama blogger(already have the pass).

  3. mo-wo says:

    Ok I’ll have to try and work out how to tell the story of our good friend. Two years of in and out. She looks like a frickin’ million bucks now, by the way.

    Til then.. I’ll send you this and (see the research part with wisdom on sport)

  4. That is so thoughtful!!!!

    I send you much love over your next treatment…(TheZonefamily sent me over….)

    Nice to meet you!!!

    All my hugs your way!

  5. Nancy says:

    That’s so generous of you. I’m not going to BlogHer this year, but I have a great survivor story that I’ll share anyway.

  6. Sonia says:

    I can’t go to BlogHer because I’ll be on a trip, by myself, with four kiddos. But my best friend and my oldest daughter’s godmother got breast cancer 4 years ago and I wrote a post in her honor 6/23/06 which if I knew how to link to that post I would but I can’t.
    She’s the strongest most “survivorest” person I know and breast cancer only highlighted all her amazing qualities. She’s been cancer free ever since.
    Hang in there, girlfriend, I’m thinking of you!

  7. Sonia says:

    Um, the post is on my main blog “…and the pursuit of happiness” on Blogger.
    Sorry!

  8. canape says:

    I am proud to say that I tested your toilets as puke receptacles back in April and they passed with flying colors. And pretty soon, you won’t even have to hold your hair back.

    I can’t wait to read all the survivor posts. Great idea!

  9. Dawn says:

    Hi there – I can’t find your contact info so I am leaving you a comment to let you know that I nominated you for the June Perfect Post award over at http://suburbanturmoil.blogspot.com/

    You can get your lil june graphic over there, too 🙂

    Hugs,
    Dawn

  10. Cait's mom says:

    Hi there. As a 6 year survivor i am cheering you on and telling you that if the chemo makes you puke, speak up. I went through three rounds throwing up for 48 hours and did not say anything because I figured puking was part of the deal. Yea I know, I was an idiot. Anyway my sister finally spoke to my oncologist and they gave me a different anti nausea drug and I stopped puking after the treatments. I ended up having a mastectomy and radiation, but I watched my oldest graduate from high school last week and am healthy. I am glad I had three children because it kept me busy and made me believe that I would get better. Good luck and listen to your instincts as well as the doctors.

  11. ella says:

    What a lovely thing to do!

  12. what an amazing idea…i’d love to write about my cousin, i was originally sent here via slouching mom and now zonefamily

  13. clifford says:

    Hey there woman…I don’t guess I have any good stories, but as I was telling Canape, I sure know a buttload of people who beat this garbage. Ex-girlfriend’s dad, current girlfriend’s coworker’s husband, company’s agent helpdesk supervisor (had it in her lymph nodes, misdiagnosed many times and the cancer was fairly progressive…she’s back a year later and as overbearing & in-your-face as she was before 😀 ), test analyst up in QA, head of visual info @ Thompson Field ANGB…I could think of some more.

    Woman, cancer doesn’t stand a chance against you. YOU IZ TUFF. And you like icees. That’d be like playing 21 against Vince Carter and he learned how to play defense.

  14. motherofbun says:

    I talked about you on my blog today. Hope you don’t mind. 🙂

  15. That double sucks. I’m sorry.

    We’re just going to have to meet when I get home instead.

  16. MammaLoves says:

    Crap! I was looking forward to getting tattoos together in Chicago.

    I’ll make sure Canape behaves and I’ll drink for the two of you!!!

  17. […] SUCKS. She’s a nice and thoughtful woman so she’s running a contest to give away her BlogHerCon pass. (Runner up can have her reservation at the sold out “W” hotel). All you have to do to […]

  18. You’re awesome. You inspire me. Thank you.

  19. I am amazed at your courage and insight. I was feeling a little down, thinking that I probably won’t make it to BlogHer (no $) and now I feel that it is so small compared to what others are going through. You inspired me to write a post I’ve been meaning to write for awhile. Here it is:

    http://spinningyellow.typepad.com/spinning_yellow/2007/07/my-mother-in-la.html

    Thanks!

  20. BirdieRoark says:

    My husband’s aunt was just diagnosed too. The whirlwind of emotions is running through our family – denial, anger, sadness, and hope. I can’t even imagine how you must be feeling.

    For your survivor theme, I re-posted a piece I wrote a year ago about my mom.

    http://whostheboss.typepad.com/my_weblog/2007/07/im-a-survivor-i.html

  21. […] is just starting her battle against breast cancer. Because of this she cannot go to BlogHer and is giving away her registration and her reservation at the W. Isn’t that kind? She’s also fighting cancer, not just in […]

  22. Ella says:

    I’ve written about someone, who although I don’t know her personally, has been an inspiration to me and to countless women who have breast cancer.

    http://limberlime.com/2007/07/05/survivor/

  23. Chani says:

    I am not interested in going to BlogHer but I will definitely write a post for you. I’ll let you know when it’s done and link it here. 🙂

    It’s a good topic!

    Peace,

    ~Chani

  24. Stimey says:

    Hey there, I can’t go to BlogHer, but I wrote something for you:
    Survivors.

  25. […] BlogHer pass […]

  26. […] now a conference that brings us together to talk about it.  I missed it last year, but nothing could keep me away this year.  That’s right.  It’s time to start […]