Walking With WhyMommy

The response to my recent post about walking the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure next month was so overwhelming that I’m posting again, with answers to the questions that I got by web and email.

Yes, I’m going to walk.  Or at least ride the little survivor trolley down to the finish line.

No, I don’t know what to expect.  This is my first time!  But I hear that it’s an incredible experience (similar to Relay for Life and the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer) and I’m eager to experience it.

Yes, I would be thrilled if you’d walk for me in the race near you.  Let me know and I’ll put your name and picture up on a special page that I’m working on to recognize all the work that you’re doing to help me get the word out about inflammatory breast cancer, the silent killer!

Yes, it would be awesome to meet up at the Baltimore (Hunt Valley, MD) race on October 14.  I’ll be the one in the pink shirt.  (Kidding.  Every survivor will be wearing a pink shirt, and there will be thousands of us!  I’ll be wearing a light pink Team WhyMommy t-shirt, of course!)  I’ll also be happy to meet you someplace that we both can find — it’s so sweet of you to ask!

Yes, we can walk together (here’s an easy link to register for the walk in MD if you don’t have a team already).  I’m not asking for anything special or even for you to sponsor me in the walk.  I’m not a fundraiser, and I know how hard it is for many of us to make ends meet.  What I want is for people to hear about inflammatory breast cancer.  That’s why I’m doing this.  That’s why I’m blogging publicly about my private response to inflammatory breast cancer.  Right down to the hot flashes.

Walk with WhyMommy.

Write with WhyMommy.

I’m so glad that you’re on my team.

PortlandOregon

This is my brother.  I believe that he is the very first Walker for WhyMommy.  He ran in last weekend’s Race for the Cure in Portland, Oregon, with 46,000 of his closest friends.  He put my blogname on his back and ran this race.  I am so proud of him.

25 Responses to Walking With WhyMommy

  1. ~JJ! says:

    Yay Brother.

  2. WorksForMom says:

    Yay brother indeed. Love that sign in the background!

  3. Char says:

    What a wonderful brother!

  4. magpie says:

    I sent you a little bit.

  5. Two Shews says:

    I got an idea! I have started a fundraising effort on my site for October– Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Please feel free to share it? Also, I linked to your site in the post. So… um, yeah.

    You inspired me.

    Here’ s the post:
    http://twoshews.blogspot.com/2007/09/better-way-to-tell-facebook-to-suck-it.html

  6. Jessica says:

    I am walking too–in the family walk with my husband, and the kids in strollers. Well, not my husband in a stroller…you know what I mean. Anyway, I joined the Team WhyMommy team site when I registered for the walk…I will be getting us Team WhyMommy shirts for the day too. I hope to see you there…if Team WhyMommy has a meeting spot, please let us know where it is!

  7. canape says:

    Your brother rocks hard. I heart him.

    My friend Boo will be playing violin in your honor for an upcoming concert. I’ll have to get you the details, but I thought you would want to know, there is writing, walking, and now music all being done to raise awareness for IBC and in your honor.

  8. planetnomad says:

    No way! Now I’m even more cross with myself. I wanted to run for you in the race in Ptld, OR, but our lives are still in such turmoil (we’re still living out of suitcases in friends’ basement) that I never got myself organized. I was already mad at myself, and now I find out I could have met your brother and we could have been a team for you! Excpet that I wouldn’t have run. Nope, not me. I’m more of the walking type.

  9. Oh, I’d just LOVE to come and participate with you in the Baltimore run… It would take something akin to magic to make it possible, but it would be SO wonderful to take part with you, Whymommy!!

    Just so you know, my three girls and I will be walking in our public school’s Terry Fox walk/run for the Canadian Cancer Society on Friday afternoon. I’ll be pinning a big “Whymommy” sign on our stroller, just for you… and telling everyone I can about IBC.

    Love to you, as always xo CGF

  10. Stimey says:

    So cool. I did the Race for the Cure in DC last May and it was great. I walked with a multiple-year survivor then. I can’t do the Baltimore one this fall, but I’ll walk with you in May. And you better believe you’ll be walking it in May!

  11. BetteJo says:

    Oh, the brother brought tears to my eyes.

  12. Jacquie says:

    What a wonderful thing for your brother to do. You have such a great support team.

  13. motherofbun says:

    I’m blind (and a bit dim) but where can we send money for the WhyMommy team? Please post…

    And your brother? Wonderful. Awww.

  14. twithhoney says:

    I can’t believe all the things you are doing while fighting cancer. You must have a ton of inner strength and a stubborn streak to rival a mule. 😉

  15. Brownie says:

    Great to see your Bro. Haven’t seen him since he was maybe 14. The only pictures your mom ever shows me are of the grandbabies! He was always a great guy so it’s not surprising that he’d do this in his “spare time.” But then, he’s got a pretty great sister! You might say this is a family trait.

  16. Just posted something about you and this amazing team! I haven’t read very far, but I knew I needed to join the team. Keep fighting the good fight.

  17. Alison says:

    I wish I had known! I’ve been following your blog and we just did a walk on the 16th in NJ for breast cancer! My son walked for his grandma who passed away from Breast Cancer and my daughter, 6 months, “walked” for her great grandpa who is a survivor! My husband and I walked for anyone and everyone so we were walking for you!!
    Thanks for sharing!

  18. Alison says:

    I’d like to write about IBC on my blog to start off Breast Cancer Awareness month. I want the world to know about it!
    Can you share any resources?

    mcgearstella@embarqmail.com or check out my blog
    http://www.mommountain.blogspot.com or http://www.stellafamilyupdate.blogspot.com

  19. whymommy says:

    Alison — yes! Check out the link at the top left of my page, inflammatory breast cancer. Or go here directly: https://toddlerplanet.wordpress.com/inflammatory-breast-cancer/

    Thank you!

  20. Tamara says:

    I have been looking and I haven’t been seeing – but do you know about the virtual walk by Design-Her gals?

  21. NoRegrets says:

    My web browser kind of blew up after I made a pledge in Team WhyMommy – Maybe it didn’t show because you’ve already reached your fundraising goal? In any event, just wanted you to know I showed my financial support.

  22. Ana says:

    I know I can’t be there with you, which sucks rocks, but I sure will participate in our local one! You are an amazing lady, WhyMommy! Bless You!

  23. Margi says:

    Everytime I think I don’t want to get up at the freakin crack of dawn again to train, I think of people like you. I think of people in the world who have breast cancer, who are actively fighting it, and who walk in the 3-Day anyway. And of course I’m amazed. And humbled. And I get my lazy butt out of bed and I walk.

    Thank you for re-inspiring me. With 31 days until the Arizona 3Day, I need a little push! Oh, and I’ve done this 3 times before. You’re welcome to email me anytime and I’ll answer whatever questions you have about what to expect. It’s awesome. It changed my life.

  24. Meg in Maryland says:

    Came across your site when a blog referenced a blog referenced a blog. Could not leave without donating towards your team goal. Thanks for the inspiration and I hope your walk goes well.

  25. […] Walking With WhyMommy in the Hunt Valley, MD Susan G. Komen race this Sunday is welcome to meet me at the team meeting […]